Officers of The Association

AFB Chairman

  • Bill Smith Managing Director & Head of EMEA, BMO Capital Markets

AFB Vice Chairmen

  • Sir Roger Gifford Senior Banker, SEB London
  • Mark Garvin Chairman, JPMEL
  • Paul Orchart Managing Director Europe, Commonwealth Bank of Australia

Chairman EU Division

  • Philip Paddack UK Country Manager, BBVA

Chairman World Division

  • Stewart Boyd Managing Director & Country Head, DBS Bank Ltd


  • Yu Sun CEO UK, Bank of China
  • Joseph Chow General Manager, Bank of East Asia
  • Masahiro Kuwahara Regional Executive for Europe, Middle East, and Africa, MUFG Bank, Ltd
  • Tom Isaac Managing Director, Citigroup London
  • Tamira Treffers-Herrera Regional Head Europe, Coöperatieve Rabobank U.A.
  • Diana Brightmore-Armour CEO, UK & Europe, ANZ Banking Group Limited
  • Catherine Raines CEO, Association of Foreign Banks

All Board Members together with the Chairs of the following Committees:

Chief Financial Officers'

  • Rolfe Lakin CFO, National Australia Bank


  • Bharat Samani MD, Head Of Compliance, UK & Europe, Banco Bilbao Vizcaya Argentaria

Corporate & Institutional Banking

  • Martin Kennedy Managing Director, Head of UK Corporate Coverage, SMBC Europe

Financial Crime

  • Chris Murphy Chair of the AFB Financial Crime Committee

Human Resources

  • Patricia Galloway Senior Vice President, Group Human Resources DVB Bank SE


  • Callum Middleton SMBC (Europe) Ltd, Senior Executive Director, Planning Department – Operations Planning

Operational Risk

  • Helen Pykhova Associated Member, AFB

Representative Office Forum

  • Nihan Turgay Chief Representative, Garanti Bank

Risk Management

  • Richard Hargraves Siemens BankHead of Risk Management, Industry & Healthcare Finance

Trade Finance

  • Karsten Wenk Head of Transaction Services UK, Commerzbank AG


  • Laurence Mattingly Director, Tax, ING Bank NV London Branch